Johnson: Leader of ATF During ‘Fast and Furious’ Fallout Confirmed as New Director

The Senate confirmed controversial Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives nominee B. Todd Jones on a nearly party-line vote today, with Democratic leaders making Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.) fly back from her home state to move forward President Obama’s pick.

Heitkamp’s vote was added to Sens. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Susan Collins (Maine), Kelly Ayotte (N.H.), Lindsey Graham (S.C.), John McCain (Ariz.) and Mark Kirk (Ill.) to reach the 60 needed to end debate.

Jones was then confirmed 53-42. Kirk was the only Republican to vote in favor.

“For nearly seven years, Senate Republicans had refused to confirm an ATF director – not because they thought the nominees weren’t qualified, but because they put politics ahead of the agency’s law enforcement mission,” Obama complained in a statement after the vote.


This entry was posted in Web Logs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.
  • beentheredonethat

    Ah yes. Lindsey Graham and John McCain. Again. The African White Rhino may be a protected species but hopefully in 2014 mid terms it will be ‘open season’ on the American white RINO.